top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrynn Smith

Packing for a Two Year Trip in Under 100 lbs

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

I'm moving out of my apartment in less than two weeks, and with all of this packing, it only made sense for me to start really packing (Even though I still have 8 weeks before I depart, I plan to spend most of that time traveling to see friends and family).


Peace Corps limits the amount of baggage that you are allowed to take with you to your site. Specifically, the allowance is two checked pieces of luggage with combined dimensions of both pieces not to exceed 107 inches (length + width + height) and a carry-on bag with dimensions of no more than 45 inches. Also, checked baggage should not exceed 100 pounds total with a maximum weight of 50 pounds per bag.


Originally, I did not think this would be much of a challenge for me, considering I spent a few months last summer travelling out of just a backpack. I was so wrong.


The Gear.


I did a bit of research before buying my luggage, and a lot of RPCVs recommend buying Eagle Creek. Not only do they give Peace Corps Volunteers a 50 % off discount, but they also have a lifetime warranty on all of their gear. I bought the Gear Warrior Wheeled Duffel (110L/34") as my largest checked bag, and the 40L Global Companion backpack as my carry-on (both made out of recycled materiel as well!). I also bought a small No Matter What Duffel as my second checked bag.





My luggage and a Peace Corps button to identify it

The Clothes.


On the website, Peace Corps has a recommended list of clothing to bring, however I also read on a thread that it can be outdated. I mostly stuck to the list with a few extra add ins:


• 10 hot weather appropriate business-casual shirts

• 20 pairs of cotton underwear

• 10 pairs of cotton socks, mainly for exercise

• 2 pairs of exercise shorts

• 1 Light, breathable rain jacket

• 3 Bathing suits

• 3 maxi skirts

• 3 sun dresses

• 2 semi-formal dresses

• 3 pairs of jeans

• 3 dress pants

• 3 shorts

• 1 pair of sneakers

• 1 pair of comfortable heels (I ordered a pair from Teva, 40 % off for PCVs!)

• 1 pair of athletic sandals (Tevas)

• 1 pair of platform sandals (also Tevas)



I also used these packing cubes and space saver bags




The Equipment.


I've done a bit of reading. I am 100 % convinced that I will absolutely need all of this, and no one can possibly convince me otherwise (try if you must).


• Portable and foldable solar panel charger

• My Nutri-Bullet blender (100 % necessary to maintain my vegan diet)

• 12oz Stainless steel portable French press (Ok this is mainly for travel)

Hydro Flask water bottle (also 40 % off for PCVs)

Camelbak hydration pack (40 % off TOO)

• Rechargeable battery packs and batteries

• Freeland camping sleeping pad

• Sleeping bag

• Travel yoga/exercise mat

• Battery powered fan

• Flashlight

• Microfiber camping towel

• Five gallon solar shower (also mainly for travel)

• Small Bluetooth speaker

Osmo Action camera + accessories (it's like a GoPro, but I personally think it is better.)

• My laptop




The Toiletries.


• Lush solid shampoo bar, conditioner bar, face bar and soap

• Lots of contact solution

• Multivitamins

• Motion sickness patches (for travel)

• Hand sanitizer

• Makeup (minimal)

• Bamboo toothbrush and Bite toothpaste tabs

• Extra boxes of contacts

• Two pairs of glasses

• Allergy Meds

• Deodorant




Other Very Important Items.


• Mosquito repellent

• Flash drive with movies

• A few books

• Playing cards

• Spices (apparently they are expensive)

• Small Charleston-themed gifts for host family



TBD: Will it all really fit? Is there something I forgot?


Updates to come.




112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page